2008 Brock Prize Nominees

Roy Barnes, Former Governor, Georgia
The Barnes Law Group
Attorneys at Law
Marietta, Georgia
J.D. from the University of Georgia School of Law

Nominated By: Louis A. Castenell, Jr.

Download Nomination PortfolioContact Nominee

Governor Roy E. Barnes successfully introduced education reform measures to significantly improve student achievement in Georgia. Governor Barnes was co-chair of the prestigious Aspen Institute’s Commission on the No Child Left Behind Act. Its 75 recommendations are presently under review by Congress.


John D. Bransford
James W. Mifflin Professorship
Professor of Education and Psychology
College of Education, University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

Nominated By: Steven R. Yussen

Download Nomination PortfolioContact Nominee

John Bransford is likely the leading “learning scientist” in the United States today, synthesizing research and developing learning tools to advance student learning.


Richard P. DuFour
Author and Educational Consultant
Moneta, VA

Nominated By: Jill Martin and David Schuler

Download Nomination Portfolio 1Download Nomination Portfolio 2Contact Nominee

By developing and sharing the highly recognized methods to implement the Professional Learning Communities approach to improving K-12 education, Dr. Rick DuFour has improved teaching and learning throughout the United States and the world. The results of this work has transformed education in every school that has adopted the model.


Robert J. Marzano
Cofounder and CEO
Marzano Research Laboratory
Centennial, CO

Nominated By: Larry Nyland and Marilyn Bradford

Download Nomination Portfolio 1Download Nomination Portfolio 2Contact Nominee

Robert J. Marzano has been a leader in developing programs and practices used in K-12 classrooms that translate current research and theory in cognition into instructional methods.  He has written 26 books, over 150 articles and chapters in books, and over 100 curriculum materials.  He has also worked with schools and districts in every state and a number of countries outside the U.S.


Barbara Leigh Smith
Emeritus Professor, Former Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
The Evergreen State College, Olympia, Washington

Nominated By: Steve Harmon Wilson

Download Nomination PortfolioContact Nominee

Dr. Barbara Leigh Smith has been a leading researcher, promoter, and practitioner of student-centered learning communities since the 1970s. A founding director of the Washington Center for Improving the Quality of Undergraduate Education at Evergreen State, she co-directed the National Learning Communities Project from 2000 to 2004.


Vincent Tinto
Distinguished Professor of Education, Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York
Senior Scholar, The Pell Institute for the Study of Opportunity in Higher Education, Washington, D.C.

Nominated By: Kathryn M. Snead

Download Nomination PortfolioContact Nominee

Professor Vincent Tinto is currently Distinguished University Professor at Syracuse University and chair of the higher education program. He has carried out research and has written extensively on higher education, particularly on student persistence, retention and the impact of learning communities on student growth and attainment, especially for low-income, under-represented, and under-prepared students.