About the Brock International Prize

How Is the Prize Recipient Determined?

Each year, a jury of nine members selected by the Chair of the Executive Committee deliberates to select the recipient of the Brock International Prize in Education. Jurors include educators and champions of education, university officers, meritorious professors, business and government officials, and others committed to excellence in education.

Each juror nominates one candidate, submits a brief statement on the accomplishments of that individual, and develops a 20 to 50-page portfolio showcasing the nominee’s work. During the deliberation process, each juror makes a 30-minute oral presentation in support of his or her candidate. Discussion and elimination voting follow until the Brock Laureate for the following year is identified.

What Makes This Prize Significant?

Education is a topic of ever-growing concern in all areas of civilized society. It is a field that is carefully practiced, actively researched, and often undergoing transformation. Where once education was a benefit of a privileged few, today it has become imperative for entire nations. To be uneducated diminishes one’s chances of success. Given an environment in which so much is at stake, it is important to recognize major innovations in education and adopt them into other education systems.

How Is the Brock Prize Administered?

The Brock Prize Executive Committee supervises the administration of the Prize. The Committee includes executive officers and representatives from Oklahoma State University, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Tulsa, and the John and Donnie Brock Foundation. The Chair of the Executive Committee and Administrator of the Prize is Dr. Ed Harris, Professor and Williams Chair of Educational Leadership at Oklahoma State University.

For Whom Is the Brock Prize Named?

John A. and the late Donnie V. Brock are Oklahoma natives. Donnie was a former educator, having taught elementary school in Oklahoma and Texas. John is Chairman of the Board of Medallion Petroleum, Inc. He served as an artillery officer in the Korean War, serves on several boards of directors, and is a member of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame. The Brocks have both been active in civic organizations and have been patrons of the arts.
What is the Brock Family Community Foundation?

The Brock Family Community Foundation’s sole purpose is the awarding of the Brock International Prize in Education and the establishment of the Brock Prize Symposium. The directors of the Foundation are Dr. Ed Harris, R. Blake Atkins, attorney; and Thomas W. Wilkins, President of the Trust Company of Oklahoma. The Trust Company of Oklahoma manages the Foundation’s funds.

Brock Family Community Foundation funds the administrative costs of the prize as well as travel expenses for jury members and the laureate.